Diversions

This will be my first off-the-cuff post.

Things have been a bit hectic for me, starting with this:

passat-resized.jpg

I want to be like the old commentator on The Price is Right and announce, “A new car!” except I didn’t buy a “new” car, but I did buy one very similar to the one above. You’ll just have to pretend that the one above is dark blue, with better rims, and without that nasty little lip on the moon-roof.

Would you believe it’s been 6 years since I owned a vehicle? Well, it’s true. I am now the proud owner (and I get warm fuzzies thinking about it) of a Volkswagen Passat. Yay!

Which brings me to my second diversion. I just got promoted to a new position in my company. It’s terribly distracting, with 4 weeks of training (their bill) in Tampa, Florida; better pay; a shorter commute; more variety in my day…well, you can imagine.

And that leaves diversion #3. I am about 1 hour away from finishing a short story called, “She Called Her Carla.” It will be the first story I’ve finished in almost a year. Lots of writing, lots of ideas – no completing. Line-by-line editing is my nemesis, but I finally vanquished him with this tale of Gothic teenagers, spiders, and Labradors. I hope to market it as a “religious horror story.” We’ll see.

I hope to return to the Experiment post-haste, hopefully continuing my exploration into ghost stories with my personal  favorite, Ghost Story, by Peter Straub.

-Rivene

Published in: on February 6, 2008 at 3:28 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://rivene.wordpress.com/2008/02/06/diversions/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It’s always nice to have a new-to-you car. And congrats on the promotion.

  2. […] it turns out that my Passat doesn’t like baths, and started to run choppy about a mile down the road, then it gave me […]


Leave a Reply

