Video Game Nostalgia

This was me from 3rd-9th grade (and sophomore year of college)

This was me from about 2nd-8th grade (and my sophomore year of college…and 2 sickening weeks post-graduation where I did nothing but play FF7 until completion, which included getting a Golden Chocobo then Knights of the Round; and if you have any idea what these last 2 things are, then YOU TOO have looked like this!)

Today’s featured article on Wikipedia was a good cover story of the SNES game Chrono Trigger

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chrono_Trigger

SNES Chrono Trigger

It remains, unarguably, one of the best RPG’s ever made – ok, pause. I will argue this with some of the Wikipedia article’s stats:

GameSpot included Chrono Trigger in “The Greatest Games of All Time” list released in April 2006, and it also appeared as 28th on an “All Time Top 100” list in a poll conducted by Japanese magazine Famitsu. In 2004, Chrono Trigger finished runner up to Final Fantasy VII in the inaugural GameFAQs video game battle. In 2008, readers of Dengeki Online voted it the eighth best game ever made”

Like I said, one of the best RPG’s ever made (that is “role playing games” for the non-geeky non-gamers). My best friend and I poured dozens of hours into this game; we took turns leveling up our characters, playing it late into the night, and if one of us dozed off, it was with the unbreakable vow to wake the other if something important happened.

This game had it all: combination attacks, eye-popping graphics, a superb sound score, loveable characters, and a story that spanned across several time epochs.

It was everything a game was meant to be.

Reading the Wikipedia article brought back fond memories of stories and characters that I fell in love with on my NES, SNES, and later on my best friend’s Nintendo 64:

Games like Chrono Trigger, Faxanadu, Final Fantasy II & III, Super Metroid, Secret of Evermore (granted, nowhere near as good as the other Square games, but I liked it), and Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past.

I remember FFIII in particular, probably because I beat it 3 times.

SNES FFIII

Squaresoft found its rhythm with this game. The changes in story, score, and character development (not to mention game play) were light years beyond what they had achieved in FFII. I was literally awed, unashamedly to tears, when I got to the Opera House scene and felt the pathos of the 16-bit music delivered through my 13″ television speakers.

I played it 2 more times because I loved the characters, and the story, and I enjoyed losing myself in the immensity of its world.

If you are able, completely unlike me, to play video games with some semblance of balance, I would recommend checking out either of these fine games. They are old; they are even somewhat hard to find (you might find them as a ROM, but then you must remember to delete them 24 hours after download); but they still remain enjoyable for their characters and stories.

Of course, you could also give away 2 weeks of your life on a Playstation by taking up a full-time job as a Final Fantasy VII gamer.

But as a fair warning, the pay’s not so great. (Of course, it is pretty fun!)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://rivene.wordpress.com/2008/04/11/video-game-nostalgia/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am kinda sorry I missed out on the whole FF craze. For us it was Resident Evil 1-3…wasted alot of time on those….

  2. OMG. I miss old skool Nintendo (I have one but it blinks… you remember how it was) and Zelda Gold, Mario, 1942. I was also Mario Kart and Mortal Kombat champ, I’ll have you know.

    I haven’t played anything in probably a decade though I thought of buying myself a Wii for my 30th birthday but then reason got the best of me.

  3. Hmmm… I haven’t heard of most of these games. I played Myst and Riven and Descent back in the day. Does that count for anything? :o)

  4. You like Catan, J. That counts for everything :o)


Leave a Reply

