death by blogging

Far Side Comic

Far Side Comic

Read an interesting article in the NY Times today.

Excerpt..

They work long hours, often to exhaustion. Many are paid by the piece — not garments, but blog posts. This is the digital-era sweatshop. You may know it by a different name: home”

A growing work force of home-office laborers and entrepreneurs, armed with computers and smartphones and wired to the hilt, are toiling under great physical and emotional stress created by the around-the-clock Internet economy that demands a constant stream of news and comment”

Click here to read the rest of the article http://www.nytimes.com/2008/04/06/technology/06sweat.html?_r=1&oref=slogin

What do you think? Are we too plugged in? Too connected? Has our home desktop become the new sweatshop?

 

Published in: on April 15, 2008 at 10:35 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://rivene.wordpress.com/2008/04/15/death-by-blogging/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Well, I kind of object to the sweatshop analogy in that people who blog for money have the choice whether to do so or not. I mean, I don’t know much about sweatshops because thank God I don’t work in one but also, can’t a blogger earn more money the more he/she posts whereas a sweatshop worker earns like, a dollar a day regardless of how many designer logos they sew onto t-shirts? I don’t know, whatever, not the point, I’m just saying.

    Anyway, no, I don’t think we are too plugged in (though I admit I may have a slight internet addiction.) Again, I think it comes down to choice; yeah, the economy sucks but they could always do something else if they didn’t want to be blogging for money, if they felt it was to stressful. I mean, if someone wanted to pay me for a few freelance posts I’d be all for it. I know plenty of bloggers who do it in addition do their “real” jobs.

  2. Such controversy!

    I think the interesting part of the article is pointing out that blogs are still considered fringe, at least when it comes to paying the bills.

    A journalist could write the same piece for an established paper’s print article as for its online blog, and they would not be paid the same.

    This is not a matter of quality work.
    I think a writer working for the same periodical should be paid fairly for the work produced, regardless of whether that be in traditional or nontraditional venues; of course, try selling that to the marketing/business department..


Leave a Reply

