Trapped in an Elevator

Wow.. This video creeps me out.

It’s about a guy named Nicholas White who was trapped in an elevator in New York for 41 hours.

The New Yorker published Nicholas’ story in a spread called “Up and Then Down,” with this condensed video -taken by security cameras – being the highlight.

When I was growing up, I had a paranoic fear of closed spaces.

I wanted so badly to end my fear, I forced myself to sleep inside a sealed sleeping bag during summer camping trips. I would zip it all the way shut, and then I would cuddle up into a ball near the bottom.

I hated it. But it worked. After a few summers, I wasn’t afraid of dark, small spaces.

But I still wouldn’t want to be in a damned elevator for 41 hours!

(this video -and the memories it stirs up- is filled with material for The Horror Experiment!)

If you want to know more about how this experience affected Nicholas, check out this article on gawker.com,

http://gawker.com/379384/trapped-in-an-elevator-for-two-days-the-video

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://rivene.wordpress.com/2008/04/15/trapped-in-an-elevator/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I don’t think I knew that about you before, Scott. I like hearing new stories about old friends, even if they are sad stories.


Leave a Reply

