Fascinating Finds & Other Time Wasters

I decided to start something new with the site. It’s for those interesting websites that I run across during random Internet researching. Some people call this surfing; what a frivolous term! This is important, life-bettering, information!

Today was especially enjoyable. I stumbled across an interview of one of my favorite actresses.

Audrey Tatou

You can check out the full interview here. I appreciate Miss Tatou’s treatment of interviewers. And did you know that the original Amelie was supposed to be Emily Watson? I tried to imagine that, but no way. After reading the interview, I got the impression that I would have a great time talking literature with her over a cup of coffee. Of course, that will never happen…I guess she’s right, it doesn’t take much…

~~

Puzzle Apartment

The NY Times had an interesting story about a family’s extravagantly funded fun, and the brilliant architect that made it possible. You can read the story here.  

My first reaction was, what a waste! THINK OF ALL THE STARVING KIDS!! But after I toned down a bit, I realized that I was mostly jealous that I wasn’t the one who got to solve the puzzle. The amazing part of this story was the line,

“Finally, one day last fall, more than a year after they moved in…”

With the ADD machine that is modern America, I thought patience was as gone as dinosaurs. Kudos to the architect for not spoiling the fun. I guess I could replicate something like this for myself; I just have to buy Riven for my computer and pretend like my apartment really does rock out.

~~

Anyways, enough research for me today. If you’ve found anything fascinating in your own Internet ramblings, post it as a link in the comments and I’ll make sure to check it out.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://rivene.wordpress.com/2008/06/14/fascinating-finds-other-time-wasters/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

