Pogonology

The following post is part of Randy Elrod’s Watercooler Wednesdays

    It is also my exploration into the strange land of facial hair. 

This is a recent adventure for me. Unlike my father, who has had a full beard since he was 15, I’m only clocking about 3 years of observable lip and chin sproutage. 

I’ve learned a couple of things,

1) When you lose hair up top, and gain hair below, being carded for alcohol goes bye-bye, and sir becomes a regular byproduct of strangers’ vocabulary

2) Worrisome thoughts are whittled away with subconscious strokes to one’s chin

And I finally understand why all those creative types grow facial hair. It feels very, I don’t know how to express it, manly I suppose, a bit rebellious… maybe even a bit hip

Of course, sometimes it’s just lazy

I’ve found it’s actually a great indicator for how ordered my life is. A friend of mine let his beard grow wild recently, and I remember him joking, “I’m wearing my sin on my face.” 

So, what do you think?

 

Facial Hair

 

Manly? Rebellious? Hip? Or just plain sinful? 

Comment your opinion. 

(Bonus points if you can tell me what the title means)

 

Published in: on June 25, 2008 at 4:44 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://rivene.wordpress.com/2008/06/25/pogonology/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh definitely manly. No doubt about that. I have no idea what the title means!

  2. You are a Man’s Man….keep it coming!

  3. a) Pogonology: The study of beards.

    b) I am mainly ambivalent towards facial hair since I do not have to take care of it. But I think it looks good.

  4. Thank you all. I am glad you approve!


Leave a Reply

