Summer Reading

 

In the spirit of every true book lover, I decided to divulge my summer reading plan. 

It dawned on me today that this plan is quite ambitious, and I might want to remember that sunshine only arrives in Seattle for about 30 of the 365 days in a year.

Fair weather or foul, here be the plan,

 

 

1) Bulfinch’s Mythology – a classic spanning the Greek, Roman, and Medieval mythologies necessary for a proper understanding of classical tales; a very readable book for those (like myself) that would otherwise get buried in the mound of material

2) Don Quixote – a brilliant satire on the classic knight’s errant tale (best read in conjunction with Bulfinch’s Mythology – Age of Fable)

3) The Forgotten Spurgeon – a biography that grapples with the 3 main crises’ of the English preacher’s ministry – a useful book for those of us wrestling with Calvinism versus Arminiasm

4) The Art of Fiction – a fabulous work on how to write fiction; a must for those testing the water of what it means to be a genre writer

5) The American Language – the elitist himself gives an overview of the developmental history of that most slippery of languages (the American), as it slid its way across the Atlantic

6) The World As I Remember It: Through the Eyes of a Ragamuffin – a book that came with high recommendation from my roommate. Composed as a series of articles Rich Mullins wrote for Release magazine, it is an inspirational work from this musician that reminds us he was far more than that 

7) Something Wicked This Way Comes – a wonderfully light and dark tale about friendship, the price of getting what you want, and the mysterious relationship between fathers and sons

This last book brought my summer reading to a new level of satisfaction: I stumbled across a popular use of the word riven,

Better to leave him propped in electric-warm chair, a continual exhibit, an ever-going-on-performance for gaping audiences, and try again, but especially try now, when, lights out, and crowds herded off in the dark, all threatened by one smile on a bullet, there was need of Cooger as he once was, tall, flame-headed, and riven with earthquake violence.”  

What a mouthful! Leave it to Bradbury to bury one of my favorite words in a novel-length sentence. Although, you have to admit that the image of “threatened by one smile on a bullet” is damned fine writing!

And then there are the 2 summer reading books that made honorable mention (they are currently buried under a mound of material on my desk..)

 

 

Bird by Bird – a book on writing

Zen in the Art of Writing – yet another book on writing

~~

So many words, so many books, so little time…

And (against better reason) I would ask you: Are there any books I should throw onto my queue?

What does your summer reading list look like?

~~

For those readers with children, check out the summer reading program Barnes & Noble is offering. 

You can’t beat a free book, especially at their prices!

Published in: on August 4, 2008 at 8:06 pm  Comments (5)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://rivene.wordpress.com/2008/08/04/words-words-and-more-words/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great list. I own “Don Quixote.” I still haven’t tackled it yet; I think it’ll have to wait a little while longer. :o) I think I’ve wanted to read “Something Wicked This Way Comes” as well.

    I am currently reading “The Language of God,” which is really interesting for a science nerd like me :o). I think that will be the last thing I read before school starts though.

  2. The Language of God, huh?

    I did a quick search on Google; it sounds like a good read. I’ll have to check it out.

  3. Good Luck! Sounds pretty ambitious!

  4. Thanks for the encouragment, Sam!

  5. I had to come back here to let you know that I just finished Fahrenheit 451…(’cause I was curious about Bradbury and it was short enough that I could get through it in a few days.)

    LOVED it.


Leave a Reply

