Fall Booksale 2008: Poetry & Fiction

 

What is the booksale?

Glorious.

This time around, I spoke with an interesting woman while waiting in line, she was looking for history books. We laughed about our book obsession (though inwardly I was grateful she’d be hunting for her books away from mine)

My hunt went well. Here were some of the better finds.

-An epic poem about werewolves in Los Angeles. Toby Barlow (the author) is very creative, and I would highly recommend you check out his website (make sure to watch “Public Service Announcement“).

Paid $1

-The author is Orson Scott Card, some of you may know him for his book, Ender’s Game. If you haven’t read it (Ender’s Game), you should. Immediately.

Paid $1

-I have been wanting to read the story after watching the movie. Neil Gaiman and Roger Avary (the screenwriters) did create an interesting spin on the classic tale with “sins of the fathers,” but they achieved this with great sacrifice, in my opinion, by ripping out the story’s Christian heart. Of course, they would argue that the Beowulf story was pre-Christ, and I would say,

“you guys are free to take as much creative license with original works as you like, in fact, Gaiman often does.” 

Paid $4

 

 

-This book (and yes, it is 1 book) was an “ace in the hole,” according to the cashier. On one side is the story, Demons’ World, and when you flip it over there is the story, I Want the Stars. I have no idea if either of these stories are any good (my suspicion is no), but it’s still pretty cool.

Paid $3

~~

Those were my finds, along with 21 others. Spent $35, got 25 books. Not too shabby. 

I leave you with 3 questions:

1) Were you there? Any great finds?

2) If you weren’t there, what was the last book you paid too much money for, simply because you had to have it?

Published in: on September 29, 2008 at 5:33 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://rivene.wordpress.com/2008/09/29/fall-booksale-2008-poetry-fiction/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Beowulf. Holy Old English, Batman (although I think that translation has both modern and old English doesn’t it?) Impressive. I’ll let you tell me about it because I’m pretty sure that’s one I’ll never tackle. Although, I never thought I’d be sitting here with Aristotle’s Nicomachean Ethics in front of me, and yet, here I am…

    So, when are you gonna blog some more? My feed reader has been strangely inactive as of late; EVERYONE is slacking! It’s quite difficult for me to blow off my ethics paper (and my new boyfriend, Aristotle–I call him Ari) when no one is blogging. Or on Facebook, for that matter.

    😉


Leave a Reply

